Virtual Reference

I was pretty surprised when I went searching for virtual reference tools that the Salt Lake City Library uses.  Why was I surprised, you ask.  Because the only option they offer is email.  Perhaps they could use somebody with virtual reference skills.  Hmmm…

Paradoxically, the Brigham City Library, the small library of my hometown, uses both email as well as instant messaging via Meebo.  I chatted with one of my old librarian-friends there and she told me that they’d only been using it for about a month now, and they still didn’t have many patrons using.  But, they felt that it was a relatively inexpensive service to maintain, and that as time passed more patrons would use it.  I couldn’t agree more.  In fact, I applaud their drive to integrate newer technologies into their system even if the need isn’t very great right now.  It definitely helps keep them informed of what technologies are available, and its also something they can build on to improve and expand their services.

About this entry